Swiss to sign six double taxation agreements

Switzerland's cabinet has given the approval for double taxation agreements with six countries.

This content was published on August 19, 2009 minutes

Agreements will be signed with Denmark, Luxembourg, Norway, France, Mexico and Britain, the finance ministry said on Wednesday.

Switzerland's cantons and business associations have had a chance to examine the agreements and submit their comments. The agreements will be made public once signed.

Since a cabinet decision in March to extend cooperation with foreign governments on tax matters, Switzerland has negotiated double taxation agreements with 13 countries. It has initialled agreements with the United States, Japan, the Netherlands, Poland, Austria, Finland and Qatar.

The agreements are based on the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) model tax convention.

Switzerland must sign administrative assistance agreements with 12 countries to be removed from a so-called "grey list" compiled by the OECD. and agencies

Articles in this story

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?