Switzerland extends border controls to all Schengen states

Citizens of Liechtenstein are the only non-Swiss who may still enter Switzerland no questions asked Keystone

The Swiss government has extended entry restrictions to all Schengen states. This will increase the protection given to the population against the coronavirus, it said on Wednesday. 

This content was published on March 25, 2020 minutes

Last week the Federal Council (executive body) imposed restrictions on entry by land and by air from Italy, France, Germany, Austria and Spain, and from all non-Schengen states. 

“Since midnight, these stricter entry requirements have also applied to flights from all remaining Schengen statesExternal link with the exception of the Principality of Liechtenstein. The relevant authorities in the EU have been notified of the changes,” the government said in a statementExternal link

With the extension of the stricter entry requirements to cover flights from all Schengen states and the checks being made on these entry requirements as part of border controls at airports, all flights from abroad are now subject to the same entry checks. 

Citizens of Switzerland and Liechtenstein, people with a Swiss residence permit and people who have to travel to Switzerland for work-related reasons or because of an emergency will continue to be allowed to enter the country. Travellers may continue to transit through Switzerland and movements of goods are still permitted.

External Content

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?