No more controls on Swiss-Liechtenstein border

As of Monday, travellers can once again enjoy passport-free travel from Switzerland to Liechtenstein.

This content was published on December 19, 2011 - 16:29 and agencies

Liechtenstein, whose capital Vaduz lies on a bus route between the eastern Swiss towns of Sargans and Buchs, has joined the Schengen area to which Switzerland has belonged for the past three years.

Under the Schengen agreement people can move between member states without having to show travel or identity documents.

Now that Liechtenstein has joined too, video monitors on the bridges over the Rhine between the two countries have been dismantled, and the mobile controls in the border area have been reduced to what they were three years ago.

Switzerland and Liechtenstein have been in a customs union since 1923, and share the same currency.

Liechtenstein is the fourth non-European Union country to join Schengen after Switzerland, Norway and Iceland. The zone now has 26 members.

Articles in this story

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

In compliance with the JTI standards

In compliance with the JTI standards

More: SWI certified by the Journalism Trust Initiative

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?