International Competition for Musical Performers, Geneva: The First 40 Years

Since its innovation in 1939, the Geneva Competition has become one of the most important annual events on the international music calendar.

This content was published on December 8, 2011 - 18:30

This special edition offers a musical retrospective featuring some of the first-prize winners in excerpts from their original competition performances.

Musical content:

1. 1939 - Maria Stader (Soprano), Switzerland

2. 1939 - Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli (piano), Italy

3. 1942 - Aurèle Nicolet (flute), Switzerland

4. 1946 - Friedrich Gulda (piano), Austria

5. 1947 - Victoria de los Angeles (Soprano), Spain

6. 1955 - Maurice André (trumpet), France

7. 1957 - Martha Argerich (piano), Argentina

8. 1959 - Heinz Holliger (oboe), Switzerland

9. 1964 - Susanna Mildonian (harp), Belgium

10. 1972 - Sumire Yoshihara (percussion), Japan

11. 1975 - Dusan Bogdanovic (guitar), Yugoslavia

12. 1977 - Ana Bela Chaves (viola), Portugal

13. 1980 - New York Vocal Arts Quartet, U.S.A.

Production information:

Musica Helvetica. Special Events-Special Editions MH-SE 2. International Competition for Musical Performers, Geneva - The First 40 Years. Produced 1982 for SBC / SRI by Lance Tschannen.

International Competition for Musical Performers, Geneva: The First 40 Years - Special Events-Special Editions

This article was automatically imported from our old content management system. If you see any display errors, please let us know:

Contributions under this article have been turned off. You can find an overview of ongoing debates with our journalists here. Please join us!

If you want to start a conversation about a topic raised in this article or want to report factual errors, email us at

Share this story

Change your password

Do you really want to delete your profile?